Laughlin Buzz

Oct 27, 2013

2013 Laughlin International Film Festival Winners

 Laughlin International Film Festival Winners for 2013  

The 2nd annual Laughlin International Film Festival wrapped up its four-day  event with an Academy Award style ceremony at the Tropicana Laughlin's Pavilion Ballroom.

Official LIFF 2013 Awards Winners are:

LIFF 2013 Grand Jury Prize
Antarctica: A Year on Ice (92min.) 
Directed by Anthony Powell

LIFF 2013 Director Award
Director Cole Mueller
Magic Hour

Red Wing 
Directed by Will Wallace
Produced by Integrity Productions
This was the festival's opening night film and stars Breann Thompson, Glen Powell, Cathy Diane Tomlin and Nikki Voss. The film also starred Hollywood actors Bill Paxton, Frances Fisher and Luke Perry.

2013 International LIFF PICK
Directed by Daniel Moreno

Best U.S. Narrative Feature Film
California Winter  
Directed by Odin Ozdil

Best U.S. Documentary Feature Film
Prison Through Tomorrow's Eyes  
Directed by Paul Sutton

Best U.S. Narrative Short Film
Directed by Aaron Harvey

Best International Narrative Feature Film
Choosing Signs  
Directed by Owen Dara

Best International Feature Documentary
Ladder in the Lions’ Den  
Directed by Bernhard Rammerstorfer & A. Ferenc Gutai

Best International Narrative Short Film
Der Räuber
Directed by Felix Schaffert

Best University Film - Tropicana PICK
Directed by Lior Sagi

Best University Film – LIFF PICK
La Familia de Sofia
Directed by Alexandra Parral

LIFF Best Drama
Blood Brothers
Directed by Jason Miller & Seth Savoy

LIFF Best Comedy
Directed by Malani Coomes             Watch trailer here

LIFF Best Thriller / Horror
The Appearing   
Directed by Daric Gates

LIFF Best Lead Actor Performance
Robert Nolan
“Mourning has broken”

LIFF Best Lead Actress Performance
Jessica Lancaster
“Choosing Signs”

LIFF Storytelling Achievement Award
DAM 999  
Directed by Roy Sohan

LIFF Cinematic Achievement Award
For the Love of Nothing
Directed by Alissa Davis

LIFF Outstanding Production Value Award
Paris After The War
Directed by Mark Lessley & Luis Navarro

Best Youth Film
The Painted Girl
Directed by Ben Kadie

Best Music Video
AZHIA 'Lonely’
Directed by Alethea Rooth

Best Animation Film
Directed by Gabriel Garcia

Best Experimental Film
Rubicon or Let's talk about Hell  
Directed by Frank Gelmeroda

Best Sound Track / Score 
Choosing Signs (87min.)
Directed by Owen Dara

Best Television Pilot 
Wilmer the Immigrant Dog - Pilot
Directed by Wilman Vergara II

Best Local Film
Dream Date
Directed by Brian Brown
The dream sequence film was shot on location in Kingman and   California.  The film stars local actors Isaac Lopez and Angela Williams, with award winner Peter Helm and Hollywood action star Danny Trejo. Peter Helm attended the film unveiling and received a special recognition award from Brian Brown and LIFF co-founder Mara Karsen for his support of the Laughlin Film Festival.

Special LIFF Bud Holland Award (Youth)
The Painted Girl
Directed by Ben Kadie

Winners announced by:

Laughlin Buzz:   

Homepage      Twitter        Facebook

No comments:

Post a Comment