Laughlin Buzz

Oct 24, 2016

2016 Community Achievement Award Winners

The 19th Annual Community Achievement Awards took place Saturday at the Aquarius Resort Resort. The Black Tie Gala was sponsored by the Laughlin Chamber of Commerce in partnership with the Post 60 American Legion of Laughlin. The awards honor local businesses, organizations and individuals for their contributions to the communities of the Tri-state area.  

Mehdi Azarmi, of Fairway Construction was named Citizen of the Year.

Don Laughlin was presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Photo credit:  Laughlin Chamber of Commerce Facebook Page
CAA Award Winners in other categories were:

Connie Davis Youth Citizen of the Year* 
Paul Stoddard
A Senior at Laughlin Jr./Sr. High School

Civic Service Award
Fred Bruno
Volunteer for the City of Bullhead City Parks & Recreation Department

Humanitarian Award 
Patty Dion
Client Services Specialist for the River Fund, Inc. 
Part owner Jester's Sports Lounge in Bullhead City

Communications Award
Brie Tyler
Our Town Magazine (Owner)

Community/Social Service Organization Award  
Northern Arizona Veterans Resource Center

Educator of the Year 
Bryan Crabtree
Physical Education Teacher
Laughlin Jr./Sr. High School

Tourism Award
Lloyd Shires
Hotel Director Riverside Resort.

Small Business of the Year
 Bug Emergency

Public Service Award
Officer Brian Morin
Bullhead City Police Department.

Large Business of the Year
Harrah's Laughlin

Green Business Award
Mohave Shred 

Entrepreneur Award 
Anita Bray, 
Owner of Javalina's Coffee Express (Fort Mohave)

Spirit of Nevada Award
Lt. John Healy
LVMPD Laughlin Substation

Spirit of Arizona Award
S.A.I.N.T.  (Saving Animals In Need Together)

Spirit of the Colorado River Award
Cameron Broadcasting

*The Youth Citzen of the Year award was re-named the Connie Davis Youth Citizen of the Year Award. Davis, in honor of the former Laughlin Chamber of Commerce Director, who passed away in August. This award recognizes a youth in the community for their involvement in the community, volunteer work or extracurricular activities. A $1,000 scholarship is awarded to the winner. 

Congratulations to the award winners and all the nominees!
for more news, happenings, events, and information about Laughlin and the tri-state area.   

Come over and join the Laughlin Buzz Facebook Group here:

*All content in this blog post are presented for entertainment and informational purposes only. We received no compensation from the properties, events, sponsors, groups, organizations, or restaurants mentioned or pictured in this blog post and are not in any way affiliated with them.  

1 comment:

  1. Mr. Medhi Azarmi was sitting at our table. Such a deserving recipient with an amazing story.